Paleo Gym® | Which Alcoholic Drinks Are Safe on a Gluten Free Diet? - Paleo Gym®
© Paleo Gym 2017

Which Alcoholic Drinks Are Safe on a Gluten Free Diet?

Alcohol is something most people use for relaxation and enjoyment and can be one of the hardest things to know how to approach when you’re aiming to go gluten free. So this question comes up a lot.

The good news is that while limiting alcohol will deliver the best results, if you are going to drink there are plenty of gluten-free drinks you can opt for next time you’re considering a tipple.

In a nutshell here’s which alcoholic drinks are gluten free:

1. Wine (provided the barrel they were stored in didn’t contain wheat paste to seal it)

2. Tequila

3. Rum
4. Hard ciders (check for malt)
5. Brandy
6. Cognac
7. Champagne
8. Vodka (from potatoes or grapes – beware grain based versions)
I don’t recommend distilled spirits made from grains.  In my experience, too many clients react to these even though they claim to be gluten free.
Salute, chin-chin, Cheers!

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.